Congratulations to Ontario’s Accessibility Champions Recognized With The 2015 David C. Onley Award

Four champions of inclusivity just received the David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility. Her Honour, the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario presented the awards alongside the Honourable David C. Onley and Minister Brad Duguid. The award recognizes individuals and organizations who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in creating awareness of accessibility and disability issues in their communities.

This 2015 recipients are:

  • Access Orangeville, in the Town of Orangeville, received the Role Model/Champion Award (Organization) for transforming Orangeville into a barrier-free community that is an inspiration to towns and cities across the province.
  • Dr. Kathryn Church, from Toronto, received the Role Model/Champion Award (Individual). Dr. Church is known around the world for her outstanding leadership in, and commitment to, accessibility and inclusivity, particularly with respect to mental health issues.
  • Lois Davies, from Aurora, received the Employee Engagement Award for creating a positive and accessible work environment in York Region and is working to find new opportunities to build more inclusivity.
  • Sarah Dinsdale, from London, received the Youth Leadership Award for her work with children, youth and adults with disabilities.

Congratulations and thank you for your work! More information on these award winners and their work is available at Ontario’s 2015 Recipients .

  • The David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility was created in 2014 to honour the province’s first Lieutenant Governor with a physical disability.
  • Mr. Onley served as the 28th Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and adopted accessibility as the overarching theme of his mandate.